Siem Reap

Before I left for Malaysia, I was telling someone that I was excited to travel to Cambodia to see their genocide memorials (since I have a somewhat morbid goal of visiting all the major genocide memorials in the world). They responded that I had better go see Angkor Wat too. So I did.

cambodiatreeMy favorite temples were the ones with tree roots climbing over the stones. The temples were astounding in and of themselves, but the way nature has interacted with them is fascinating.

cambodiaheadlessbuddha

There were lots of headless Buddhas. The whole religious aspect was kind of confusing for me, since the temples are Hindu but there were tons of Buddhas there.

cambodiagirlpraying

cambodiamonkinwindow

cambodiasilk

We also went to a silk farm and crafts workshop, and it was pretty awesome seeing the raw materials and people making gorgeous fabric.

2 thoughts on “Siem Reap

Leave a Reply

