Pahang

Earlier this week, I found out I’d be teaching in Pahang, but it wasn’t until two days ago that the powers that be told me exactly where I’d be living for the next 10 months.

It turns out that I’ll be in Benta, which is small enough that I couldn’t find a picture of it on a map of Pahang (at least on the first page of Google images). It’s fairly close to Kuala Lipis, though, which is in the upper left side of the map above.

I’ll be living in a house on a school’s campus (luckily not my school though). And get this- my house? It has scorpions. Scorpions. Of  all the animals I thought I’d have in my house, scorpions were definitely not on the list. Cockroaches? Lizards? Totally cool (well, maybe not totally cool, but definitely expected). But scorpions?

I’m definitely going to gain some street cred this year.

Or it could be that scorpions just sound super serious to my American ears. Sort of like malaria, which after studying abroad, doesn’t seem like a big deal. So maybe by the end of the year, I’ll be like, “Scorpions? Meh, I kill ’em with my bare hands.”

One thought on “Pahang

  1. Pingback: Scorpions | No Mo' FOMO

Leave a Reply

