And Thus Begins My Anxiety

Last week, I found out my flight details to Malaysia. I’d been waiting for them (and my placement, which I still don’t know) for a while and was excited to finally make it all seem real.

Before I got the email last week, I was in a state of ignorant bliss. Malaysia? Yeah, I’m heading there but I have no idea when or where I’m going. I’m not worried or anxious or anything because I have no information to be worried or anxious about.

But cue the anxiety. Because I have just found out that I have to take four flights and a total of two days to get to Malaysia. FOUR flights. TWO days. On a U.S. CARRIER (which I have not had good experiences with on international flights, because is it really that much trouble to give me a blanket that can cover even one side of my short body?).

I’m going to be a mess when I arrive.

Because I really like need my sleep. And when I don’t get enough sleep, I am tired and cranky and my entire outlook on life becomes bleak. I’m going to arrive in Kuala Lumpur and dissolve into a mess of tears and bemoan my life and want to go home.

But the bright side to all of this is that orientation only begins a whole day and a half after we arrive. So I will have time to cry and break down and want to go home and then finally sleep and be glad to be there.

Leave a Reply

