Malaysian Favorites

Before this year, I’d never thought too much about Malaysia. I knew nothing about the country, except its capital (a friend and I like to quiz each other on more obscure country capitals; Kuala Lumpur was a fun one to say, but not quite as fun as Ulaanbaatar).

I still have a lot more learning to do about the country’s history and culture, but I am learning more about Malaysian artists. So here are a few of my favorites that I’ve discovered this year. Hopefully, I’ll get to see some of their work in person next year!

Yuna: Wonderful music. Right now, she’s on tour in the US, but I hope she’ll play a show in Malaysia that I can go to.

Cheeming Boey: Artist who does a lot of cup drawings. His website also has a journal section that reminds me a lot of sites like xkcd or The Oatmeal.

Poor durian.

Chow Hon Lam: Amusing designs from a tee shirt designer and illustrator.

Hong Yi (Red): Amazing artist who makes portraits out of things like coffee stains, clothes, candles, basketballs, etc. She lives in China now, but maybe her work will still be shown in Malaysia?

Leave a Reply

